Franchitti Wins Third Indianapolis 500
INDIANAPOLIS (May 28, 2012) – Target Chip Ganassi Racing (TCGR) driver Dario Franchitti led 23 laps en route to his third victory in the Indianapolis 500 and the 31st win of his career, while Target Teammate Scott Dixon joined Franchitti on the podium with his third second-place finish of the season.
Franchitti lined up 16th on the grid for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500.  By the first caution on lap 14, Franchitti worked his way up to 13th.  As he came down pit road for his first pit stop, his No. 50 car was spun by another competitor and Franchitti was knocked into the pit-wall, requiring the crew to replace the front nose.  He would return to the track 28th.  A strong car and excellent fuel-mileage helped Franchitti work his way up to ninth by the time he made his second pit stop on lap 54.  Franchitti continued his move to the front, running in the top-three for the remainder of the race, with the No. 50 and No. 9 swapping the lead amongst one another.  Franchitti would take the lead for the final time on lap 198 to earn his third victory in the Indianapolis 500.
With the results, Dixon moves up two spots to fourth in the IZOD IndyCar Series point standings with 153 points, 47 points behind leader Will Power.  Franchitti improves to sixth in the standings with 136 points.
Honda remains second in the manufacturer point standings with 33, trailing Chevrolet by 9.  Lotus is third with 20.
Up next for Team Target is Round 6 of the IZOD IndyCar Series with the Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix from Detroit, Michigan on Sunday June 3 (3:30 pm ET on ABC).
- In celebration of Target’s 50th Anniversary this May, Franchitti ran the No. 50 instead of his usual No. 10
- Franchitti gives TCGR its fourth victory in the Indianapolis 500. (2000: Juan Pablo Montoya; 2008: Dixon; 2010: Franchitti; 2012: Franchitti)
- This win marks Ganassi’s fifth Indianapolis 500 victory.  He won his first Indianapolis 500 as a team owner after joining Pat Patrick to field Emerson Fittipaldi in 1989.  Fittipaldi started third and led 158 laps to win the race
- With his fifth win as an owner, Chip Ganassi is now tied with Lou Moore for second all-time in Indianapolis 500 wins behind only Roger Penske.
- This is Franchitti’s third win in the Indianapolis 500 (2007, 2010, 2012)
- This win marks TCGR’s 87th win and CGRT’s 146th win overall
- The 96th win for the Target Race Program comes in the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500
- Yesterday’s victory in the Indianapolis 500 is Franchitti’s 31st win in Indy car racing, tying him with Paul Tracy and Sebastien Bourdais for seventh on the all-time Indy car wins list
- There have been six three-time winners of the event.  For all six three-time winners (Louis Meyer – 1928, 1933, 1936; Wilbur Shaw – 1937, 1939, 1940; Mauri Rose – 1941, 1947, 1948; Johnny Rutherford – 1974, 1976, 1980; Bobby Unser – 1968, 1975, 1981 and Helio Castroneves – 2001, 2002, 2009) none had the same car number in all three races.  Franchitti joins the list winning with the No. 27 (2007), the No. 10 (2010) and the No. 50 (2012)
- In 40 starts at IMS, TCGR drivers have amassed four wins (2000: Montoya; 2008: Dixon; 2010: Franchitti, 2012: Franchitti), three poles, 15 top-fives and 25 top-10s
- Today’s first and second-place finishes mark TCGR’s 31st double podium and the 15th double podium for Franchitti and Dixon since becoming teammates in 2009
- This marks the second time Franchitti and Dixon finished 1-2, respectively, in the Indianapolis 500
- This win is Franchitti’s 16th victory on an oval, and comes in his 237th start in Indy car racing
- There are only two drivers from Scotland that have ever won the Indianapolis 500: Jimmy Clark, from Kilmany, won the Indianapolis 500 in 1965 and Franchitti, from Edinburgh.
- Yesterday’s victory marks Franchitti’s 109th top-five and 152nd top-10
- Franchitti has led at least one lap in seven of his nine starts at IMS
- Franchitti led seven times for 23 laps
-  Since 1990, Indy cars have visited oval tracks 212 times.  TCGR has accumulated 45 victories, 43 poles, 162 top-fives and 264 top-10s on ovals
TCGR Quote Board:
Dario Franchitti:  “I just want to dedicate this two of Indianapolis’ finest, Dan Wheldon and Michael Wanser.  Thank you to all the fans for supporting our buddy Dan today.  What a race, what a race.  I think D-dub (Wheldon) would be proud of that one.  Thank you to this Target Team and my buddy Scott Dixon.  I was looking at the pylon and I was thinking ‘I don’t know who is going to win it’, but everybody up there was a friend of Dan’s and I think that about sums it up, everybody loved Dan.  I’ve got to say thank you to Honda as well, we had a really tough qualifying and these guys worked so hard.  Every IndyCar race I’ve won has been with Honda.  This means the world, this is Indianapolis, man, three times.  To get to be on the trophy beside Dan that’s more important than anything.  The last week I’ve been studying Johnny Rutherford’s book, he said he hoped to welcome me to the three-time club.  To be in the company of guys like that means so much.  What a great race today.  I can’t say enough about this Target team and the adversity they’ve been through.”

[Read More Pressroom News]
Grand Prix of Baltimore
Streets of downtown Baltimore
Sunday, September 1, 2013
TV:  2:00 p.m. EST on NBCSN