Franchitti Qualifies On Pole In Iowa
P1 *P1 Dario Franchitti (No.10 Honda)
P2 *P2 Helio Castroneves (No.3 Chevrolet)
P3 *P3 Marco Andretti (No.26 Chevrolet)
P8 *P8 Scott Dixon (No.9 Honda)
*Official starting position after 10-spot grid penalties were assessed through the field.
Practice 1
P1 Marco Andretti (No.26 Chevrolet) at 184.832 mph
P2 Josef Newgarden (No.67 Honda) at 184.480 mph
P5 Scott Dixon (No.9 Honda) at 183.800 mph
P7 Dario Franchitti (No.10 Honda) at 183.695 mph
Practice 2
P1 Marco Andretti (No.26 Chevrolet) at 186.041 mph
P2 Dario Franchitti (No.10 Honda) at 185.715 mph
P3 Helio Castroneves (No.3 Chevrolet) at 185.713 mph
P8 Scott Dixon (No.9 Honda) at 184.634 mph
·         Today’s pole position is the 28th of Franchitti’s Indy car career.  It is his 18th pole in the IZOD IndyCar Series, delivering his 11th pole to TCGR.
·         With this pole, Franchitti takes sole-possession of eighth on the all-time poles list with 28, moving past Al Unser.
·         Franchitti scored his last pole in the 2012 Milwaukee Indyfest presented by XYQ at the Milwaukee Mile.
·         Today’s pole marks Franchitti’s first at Iowa Speedway.  Franchitti has three top-five starts and four top-10 starts.
·         Today’s pole is the 75th in Indy car racing and 36th in the IZOD IndyCar Series for TCGR.
·         In a departure from single-car qualifications, three heat races were held today to set the starting grid for the 250-lap race.  Qualification groups were determined by lap times recorded by entries in the second practice session.
o    Race one consisted of the even-numbered positions, starting with the 10th-quickest practice time overall, and determined the even-numbered positions in the starting field from 10th down.
o    Race two consisted of the odd-numbered positions, starting with the ninth-quickest practice time overall, and determined the odd-numbered positions in the starting field from ninth down.
o    Race three consisted of drivers ranked one through eight by second practice session times.
o    Results of Race three determined the first four rows, with the winner taking the pole position.
·         TCGR drivers have made 10 starts at Iowa, earning two wins (2008: Dan Wheldon; 2009: Franchitti), one pole (2007: Dixon), three podiums, six top-fives and eight top-10 finishes.  In those 10 starts, Team Target drivers have led 402 of 2,500 laps (16%).
·         Dixon has led the most laps in four races this season (St. Pete: 37; Barber: 38; Detroit: 60; Texas: 133).
·         Dixon will make his sixth start at Iowa this weekend.  In his previous five starts he has earned one pole, one podium and has led 32 laps.  In five starts at Iowa, Dixon has started in the top-three four times.  He has three top-five finishes and five top-10 finishes.  The driver of the No. 9 has an average start and finish of sixth and 5.6, respectively.  Dixon has started first twice, one of which was due to qualifying times being set by point standings.  His best finish of third came in last year’s race after starting 23rd.
·         In four starts at Iowa, Franchitti has earned two victories (2007, 2009), two podiums, and three top-five finishes.  He has led at least 68 laps in each of his four starts, leading a total of 405 laps.  His best start at the track was third in 2007.  The driver of the No. 10 has an average start of 4.5 and an average finish of 6.2.   
TCGR Quoteboard
Dario Franchitti:   “We were struggling a little bit this morning with the Target car in race trim but we made it much better in the second session of practice.  But the heat (race) the car stuck and we were able to put the Target car around the outside of Marco, kind of liked I watched T.K. (Tony Kanaan) do in the heat race before me.  I got out in front and the car felt good – no troubles for the rest of the run with no real fall off till the end of the race.  Physically it is a tough track so it will be an interesting race for us tomorrow night.  But overall a very good day for the Target boys!  Good to be starting up front here for sure!”
Target Chip Ganassi Racing will compete in the Iowa Corn Indy 250, in Newton, Iowa, on Saturday, June 23 (10:00pm ET on NBC Sports Network).
Be sure to follow us for up-to-the-minute updates on Twitter @TCGRTeams throughout the weekend.

[Read More Pressroom News]
Grand Prix of Baltimore
Streets of downtown Baltimore
Sunday, September 1, 2013
TV:  2:00 p.m. EST on NBCSN