TCGR - Indianapolis 500 Advance Notes
Race:                                     Indianapolis 500 Sunday, May 26
Drivers:                                @scottdixon9 @dariofranchitti
Cars:                                     No. 9 Target and No. 10 Target Hondas
Track:                                    Indianapolis Motor Speedway (2.5-mile oval)
TV:                                          ABC Network (12:00 PM ET)
Social:                                   @TCGRTeams #TeamTarget
Location:                              Speedway, Indiana
Off to a Great Start:  TCGR has visited Indianapolis Motor Speedway 19 times, making 39 starts with 19 different drivers.  Three times, TCGR drivers have started from the pole (1993: Arie Luyendyk; 2002: Bruno Junqueira; 2008: Dixon) and 10 times from the front row.
At the Brickyard:  In 39 starts at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, TCGR drivers have amassed four wins (2000: Montoya; 2008: Dixon; 2010: Franchitti; 2012: Franchitti), three poles, 15 top-fives and 25 top-10s.
Running in Circles:  Since 1990, Indy cars have visited oval tracks 220 times.  TCGR has accumulated 45 victories, 45 poles, 164 top-fives and 263 top-10s on ovals.  Out of a possible 85,365 laps for all Team Target starts on ovals, TCGR drivers have completed 76,086 laps (89.1%).
Ganassi’s IMS Glory:  Ganassi’s history at IMS over the years includes five wins as a team owner in the Indianapolis 500 (1989, 2000, 2008, 2010, 2012) in addition to winning the 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Brickyard 400.  Ganassi was also the fastest rookie qualifier in the 1983 Indianapolis 500 en route to his career-best eighth-place finish.
Recapping Victory:  In 2000, Montoya started second and led 167 laps on his way to TCGR’s first Indianapolis 500 win.  In 2008, Dixon started from the pole and led 115 laps en route to victory.  In 2010, Franchitti started third and led 155 laps on the way to winning his second Indianapolis 500, and in 2012 started 16th and led 23 laps to win his third Indianapolis 500.
All-Time Wins for Dario:  This is the first year since 1987 in which two drivers with three victories will try and join one of the most exclusive clubs in the worldwide motorsports –four-time winners of the Indianapolis 500.  Franchitti (2007, 2010, 2012) and Helio Castroneves are attempting to become just the fourth four-time winners of the race, joining A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977), Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987) and Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991).
99 Wins and Counting…:  The Target Racing Program, which began with Target and Chip Ganassi Racing in 1990, is just one win shy of the 100-win plateau.  The first win for the program came in 1994 with Michael’s Andretti’s Indy car victory at Surfers Paradise, Australia, when the team was merely a two-car open wheel program.  Ninety-eight wins later, the program’s umbrella not only includes involvement in the IZOD IndyCar Series, but in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) and the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series.  The partnership between Target and Chip Ganassi Racing is one of the longest consecutive team partnerships in motor racing history.
Dario Franchitti and No. 10 Target Team
Career at Indianapolis:  In nine career starts at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Franchitti has three wins and has led 329 laps.  He has completed 1,743 out of 1746 laps (99.8%).  He has an average start and finish position of 9.8 and 7.6, respectively.  His best start is third, four times (2004, 2007, 2009, 2010) and he has won three times (2007, 2010, 2012)
Oval Office:  Franchitti has participated in 131 oval races, earning 16 victories, 14 poles and leading 3,383 laps.
On the Verge of History:  Franchitti currently ranks 15th in the number of laps led in the Indianapolis 500.  In nine starts, he has led 329 laps.  If he leads four laps, he will surpass Louis Meyer for 14th on the list.
The Scotsman:  There are only two drivers from Scotland that have ever won the Indianapolis 500: Jimmy Clark from Kilmany won the Indianapolis 500 in 1965 and Franchitti, from Edinburgh, won in 2007, 2010 and 2012.
Last Time at Indianapolis:  Franchitti lined up 16th on the grid for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500.  By the first caution on lap 14, Franchitti worked his way up to 13th.  As he came down pit road for his first pit stop, his No. 50 car was spun by another competitor and Franchitti was knocked into the pit-wall, requiring the crew to replace the front nose.  He would return to the track 28th.  Franchitti continued to make his move to the front, running in the top-three for the remainder of the race, with the No. 50 and No. 9 swapping the lead amongst one another.  Franchitti would take the lead for the final time on lap 198 to earn his third victory in the Indianapolis 500.
Brazil Race Rewind:  Franchitti started the race in third after qualifying the No. 10 on the 2.536-mile street course.  In turn 1 of lap 1, Franchitti passed the No. 5 car for second and held his ground in the top three through the first 20 laps.  On lap 21 the team pit with the leaders under caution from third and rejoined the race in 14th.  On the second stint Franchitti fought his way back up to second before his second stop on lap 52 when he pit under a full course caution.  The team rejoined the race in 11th and worked their way back to seventh, where they would ultimately finish.
Dario Returns:  Four-time IZOD IndyCar Series Champion (2007, 2009, 2010, 2011) and three-time Indianapolis 500 Winner, Franchitti, returns to TCGR in 2013 for his fifth season alongside two-time Champion and 2008 Indianapolis 500 Winner, Dixon.  Franchitti is tied for seventh on the all-time wins list with 31 and holds sole possession of eighth on the all-time poles list with 30.
In the Points:  With the results in Sao Paulo, Franchitti moved to 15th in the IZOD IndyCar point standings with 70 points, -66 points behind leader, Takuma Sato.
Rarified Air:  Dario is one of only five drivers to win the Indianapolis 500 and the series title in the same season more than once.  By winning the 2012 Indianapolis 500, he became just the 10th driver in history to win the race three times.

[Read More Pressroom News]
Grand Prix of Baltimore
Streets of downtown Baltimore
Sunday, September 1, 2013
TV:  2:00 p.m. EST on NBCSN