TCGR - Iowa Advance Notes
Race:                     Iowa Corn Indy 250, June 23
Drivers:                @scottdixon9 @dariofranchitti
Cars:                     No. 9 Target Honda and No. 10 Glad Honda
Track:                    Iowa Speedway (7/8-mile oval)
TV:                          2:30 PM ET on ABC
Social:                   @TCGRTeams #TeamTarget
Location:              Newton, Iowa
Up 15 Spots:  Dario Franchitti, a two-time winner at The Milwaukee Mile, overcame an engine penalty that dropped him 10 spots on the grid from where he qualified last week, to advance a race-high 15 positions from where he started.  Franchitti moved from 23rd to finish eighth.
The Heat is On:  Qualifying for the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Iowa Speedway this Saturday, June 22, will return to ‘Heat Race’ format, originally brought on in the 2012 season to replace single-car qualifications for the event.  Three 50-lap heat races, will determine the starting grid with the format, as follows: Qualifying Heat Race 1 - Will consist of the even-numbered positions, starting with position 8 from single-car qualifying.  The results of Race 1 shall determine the even-numbered positions in the starting field, starting with position 12.  The top-two finishers will transfer to Race 3 and start in positions 8 and 10.  Qualifying Heat Race 2 - Will consist of the odd-numbered positions, starting with position 7 from single-car qualifying.  The results of Race 2 shall determine the odd-numbered positions in the starting field, starting with position 11.  The top two finishers will transfer to Race 3 and start in positions 7 and 9.  Qualifying Heat Race 3 - Will consist of positions 1 through 6 from single-car qualifying plus the first- and second-place finishers from Races 1 and 2 to determine the pole winner and the first five rows of the starting grid.  Positions in the three heat races will be determined by single-car, single-lap qualifications.  A blind draw will determine the qualifying order.  The format for heat race qualifications also will reward 12 starters with points - from nine points for the pole winner and descending by one point each position to one point for 11th and 12th.
Ovals Abound:  Iowa Speedway on Sunday is the third in a run of four consecutive ovals– one intermediate (Texas), one superspeedway (Pocono) and two short ovals (Milwaukee and Iowa).  Following Pocono on July 7th, the series won’t return to an oval until the season finale in Fontana October 19th.
Four years later:  This weekend marks the four-year anniversary of Franchitti’s first oval win with TCGR back in 2009 in Iowa.  Franchitti started fourth, completed all 250 laps and led 68 to finish first.
Top-10 in two:  This marks the second straight week that both Team Target cars remained in the top-10 in points this season.  Dixon moved up to fifth (-78) after Milwaukee and Franchitti held in 10th (-107) in the IZOD IndyCar Series points.  Helio Castroneves leads with 299.
Oval facts:  Since 1990, TCGR has made 417 starts on ovals, earning 45 wins, 45 poles, 164 top-five finishes (39.5%), 266 top-10 finishes (63.7%), 108 podiums and 21 double podiums.
TCGR Success at Iowa:  In 12 starts at Iowa Speedway, TCGR drivers have amassed two wins (2008: Dan Wheldon; 2009: Franchitti), two poles (2007: Dixon; 2012: Franchitti), seven top-five and nine top-10 finishes.  In those 12 starts, Team Target drivers have led 478 of 3,000 laps (15.9%).
@dariofranchitti “Cheering @MFranchitti @Ryan_Briscoe @AllanMcNish @ryan_dalziel @pLmotorsport @PatrickDempsey & all my friends @ Le Mans Thanks @radiolemans”
Dario Franchitti and No. 10 Glad Team
Last Time in Iowa:  Franchitti lined up first on the grid for the second time after he won his qualifying heat race.  While running under the pace laps, Franchitti radioed to his Target crew that the engine sounded off.  Shortly after that radio transmission, the No. 10 Target Honda suffered a mechanical failure, forcing Franchitti to retire from the race before taking the green flag.
Milwaukee Race Rewind:  Franchitti started the race on the inside of the 12th row after qualifying the No. 10 Honda 17th, but started 23rd due to a grid spot penalty for an engine change.  On lap 17 of 250, Franchitti passed two cars and made his way up to 21st.  On lap 24, the No. 10 car pit for the first time while the top 14 cars stayed out on the track.  During a lap 28 caution Franchitti ran 18th and held his position for more than 20 laps.  On lap 57, the No. 10 car was able to pass three more cars to 15th.  On lap 140 Franchitti jumped to 12th and with 35 laps to go the No. 10 car left pit lane for a final time to finish the race in eighth.
Career at Iowa:  In five starts at Iowa Speedway, Franchitti has earned two wins (2007, 2009), one pole (2012), three top-5 and top-10 finishes.  He has led laps in four of his five starts at the track, leading a total of 405 laps.  The driver of the No. 10 car has completed 962 of 1250 laps run at the track in his career (76.9%)
Oval Office:  Franchitti has participated in 134 oval races, earning 16 victories, 14 poles and leading 3,383 laps.
In the Points:  With the results in Milwaukee, Franchitti remained in 10th in the IZOD IndyCar Series point standings with 192 markers,    -107 points behind leader Helio Castroneves.
Rarified Air:  Dario is one of only five drivers to win the Indianapolis 500 and the series title in the same season more than once.  By winning the 2012 Indianapolis 500, he became just the 10th driver in history to win the race three times.

[Read More Pressroom News]
Grand Prix of Baltimore
Streets of downtown Baltimore
Sunday, September 1, 2013
TV:  2:00 p.m. EST on NBCSN