TCGR - Iowa Qualifying Report
Target Chip Ganassi Racing Iowa Day-End Report
IZOD IndyCar Series Heat Race Qualifying and Practice for the Iowa Corn Indy 250
Heat Race 1
P1 Scott Dixon (No.9 Honda)
P2 Takuma Sato (No.14 Honda)    
P9 Dario Franchitti (No.10 Honda)
-Dixon advanced to Heat Race 3 and Franchitti did not advance
Starting Lineup
P1 Helio Castroneves (No.3 Chevrolet)
P2 Will Power (No.12 Chevrolet)
P3 James Hinchcliffe (No.27 Chevrolet)
P5 Scott Dixon (No.9 Honda)
P24 Dario Franchitti (No.10 Honda)
P1 Tony Kanaan (No.11 Chevrolet) at 17.485 sec
P2 Will Power (No.12 Chevrolet) at 17.529 sec
P3 Marco Andretti (No.26 Chevrolet) at 17.577 sec
P5 Scott Dixon (No.9 Honda) at 17.602 sec
P16 Dario Franchitti (No.10 Honda) at 17.891 sec
Details of the Day
Managing Director, Mike Hull:  “In the single-car qualifying runs the goal was obviously to get in the top six to advance to the A-Main (Heat Race 3).  I think Scott had some understeer and Dario had some balance issues but even with another lap that would have only meant about a tenth of a second or less.  We were the fastest of the Honda powered car with Dixon in P8.  In the heat races Scott’s car was really, really good.  It’s a shame they don’t give you points for passing because we went around a lot of cars.  We’re happy to finish we’re we did with Scott and have some work to do with the No. 10 car, which we will work on tonight.”
Watch throughout the weekend live at:
Today, qualifying for the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Iowa Speedway returned to ‘Heat Race’ format, originally brought on in the 2012 season to replace single-car qualifications for the event.  A blind draw determined the qualifying order. Positions in the three heat races were determined by single-car, single-lap qualifications.   Three 50-lap heat races, determined the starting grid by the following format:
Qualifying Heat Race 1 - Consisted of the even-numbered positions, starting with position 8 from single-car qualifying.  The results of Race 1 determined the even-numbered positions in the starting field, starting with position 12.  The top-two finishers transferred to Race 3 and started in positions 8 and 10.
Qualifying Heat Race 2 - Consisted of the odd-numbered positions, starting with position 7 from single-car qualifying.  The results of Race 2 determined the odd-numbered positions in the starting field, starting with position 11.  The top two finishers transferred to Race 3 and started in positions 7 and 9.
Qualifying Heat Race 3 - Consisted of positions 1 through 6 from single-car qualifying plus the first- and second-place finishers from Races 1 and 2 to determine the pole winner and the first five rows of the starting grid.
The format for heat race qualifications also rewarded 12 starters with points - from nine points for the pole winner and descending by one point each position to one point for 11th and 12th.  (Points will not be updated until after tomorrow’s race.)
Target Chip Ganassi Racing will compete in the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Iowa Speedway on Sunday, June 23 (2:30pm ET on ABC).
Be sure to follow us for up-to-the-minute updates on Twitter @TCGRTeams throughout the weekend.

[Read More Pressroom News]
Grand Prix of Baltimore
Streets of downtown Baltimore
Sunday, September 1, 2013
TV:  2:00 p.m. EST on NBCSN